MINUTES of the

Special General Meetings of the Pendle and Ribble Valley Constituency Associations

Leading to the creation of

The Pendle & Ribble Valley Conservative Federation ("the Federation")

held sequentially on Saturday 2nd September 2023 from 10am at Read and Simonstone Village Hall, 6 East View, Read, Burnley, BB12 7PS.

There were 64 Attendees at the Meeting, 62 of whom were Members entitled to Vote. The following business was transacted:

A For the Special General Meeting of the Pendle Conservative Constituency Association

- 1) Adrian Mitchell MBE, Chairman of the Pendle Constituency Conservative Association, welcomed everyone to the Special General Meeting. A minute's silence was observed as a mark of respect to those closely associated with both Constituencies who have sadly died since the last AGMs.
 - The Chairman outlined the rationale behind the Boundary Commission's report which has now been passed into Law.
- 2) There were no Apologies for Absence
- a) Having been proposed and seconded, the meeting voted *nem con* to adopt the 2022 End of Year Accounts for the Association.
 - b) Having been proposed and seconded, the meeting voted *nem con* to adopt the 2023 Interim Accounts for the Association.
- 4) The Motion to Recognise the Closure of the Pendle Conservative Constituency Association was duly proposed and seconded and was adopted *nem con* by the Meeting.
- 5) The Motion to open the new Pendle and Clitheroe County Conservative Constituency Association was duly proposed and seconded and was adopted *nem con* by the Meeting.
- The Motion to adopt Schedule 7a Rules for Pendle & Ribble Valley Conservative Federation was duly proposed and seconded and adopted *nem con* by the Meeting.

B For the Special General Meeting of the Ribble Valley Conservative Constituency Association

David Peat OBE, Chairman of the Ribble Valley Constituency Conservative
 Association, mentioned Mrs Christine Scott and Cllr Brian Holden, both of whom have sadly died since the last AGM.

The Chairman outlined the Association's activities during the last year and thanked Members and Officers for their hard work and commitment. He explained the rationale behind forming the Pendle & Ribble Valley Federation, two Constituencies with two MP's working in close cooperation with a view to maximizing resources and Electoral impact.

- 2) Apologies for Absence had been received from Cllr Su Bibby; Mr and Mrs J Brown; Cllr Stella Brunskill; Cllr Simon Hore; Cllr Peter Mullineaux; Mr Colin Sharples; and C Cllr Rupert Swarbrick.
- 3)a) Having been proposed and seconded, the meeting voted *nem con* to adopt the 2022 End of Year Accounts for the Association.
 - b) Having been proposed and seconded, the meeting voted *nem con* to adopt the 2023 Interim Accounts for the Association.
- 4) The Motion to Recognise the Closure of the Ribble Valley Conservative Constituency Association was duly proposed and seconded and was adopted *nem con* by the Meeting.
- 5) The Motion to open the new Ribble Valley County Conservative Constituency Association was duly proposed and seconded and was adopted *nem con* by the Meeting.
- The Motion to adopt Schedule 7a Rules for Pendle & Ribble Valley Conservative Federation was duly proposed and seconded and adopted *nem con* by the Meeting.

C The new Federation

- To Receive a Report on the Structure of the Federation. This report was duly received and noted by the Meeting.
- 2) Election of Officers

All Nominees had been correctly proposed and seconded and nominations received before the deadline. The following were elected uncontested and agreed by the Meeting:

Adrian Mitchell MBE Co-Chair

David Peat OBE Co-Chair

David Brown Treasurer

The following positions were contested. Prior to each secret ballot, the candidates addressed the Meeting for three minutes and then answered questions from the floor.

The results of these Elections (with runners-up in brackets) were:

Martyn Stone Deputy Chair Political

(Sue Whittam; Ged Mirfin)

Hassan Mahmood Deputy Chair Membership

(David Berryman)

Nigel Pearson-Asher Deputy Chair Fundraising and Events

(C Cllr Sue Hind)

Note other Executive members will be by nomination or Application from membership as appropriate in due course

3) Election of Honorary Positions

The following were proposed, seconded and elected *nem con* as Presidents of the Federation:

Pauline McCormick Albert Atkinson.

Vice Presidents

The following were proposed, seconded and elected *nem con* as Vice Presidents of the Federation:

Saghir Ahmed Barry Brown Colin Sharples Richard Sherras

4)a) The Meeting noted that the Trustees for 9 Railway View Avenue, Clitheroe are:

The Trustees are: Albert Atkinson, David A Berryman, Dr. Alison Brown, and Mark Hindle.

- 4b) The Meeting noted that the Trustees for 9 Cross Street, Nelson. TBA
- 5) Appointment of Independent Verifiers of the 2023 Annual Accounts. It was noted that **Mr Colin Blackburn** and **Mr Colin Sharples** have agreed to continue in their roles as Independent Verifiers. The Meeting thanked them for all their past work and confirmed their re-appointment.
- Appointment of Data Protection Officer
 C CIIr Ged Mirfin was appointed Data Protection Officer for the Federation.
- 7) Any Further Items to be transacted Under the Rules of the Federation

There were no further items.

8) Speeches of welcome to the Federation were given by our two Members of Parliament:

Rt. Hon Nigel Evans MP and Rt. Hon Andrew Stephenson CBE MP

Cllr Stuart Hirst proposed a Vote of Thanks to everyone who had organised and run the Meeting and this was approved *nem con* by the Attendees.

Signed as a true and fair record

Adrian Mitchell MBE	David Peat OBE
Dated:	Dated: